›Farewell Photography‹

The world of images is experiencing breathtaking upheaval. Today, photography is ever-present and in constant transformation. While it was once a physical object, it is now a data set, shared thousands of times over and deleted again. It is the medium of democratic articulation and participation, but also of propaganda and commercial appropriation.
How is art reacting to these many faces of photography, to the “liquefaction” of images, and how is our view of the history of this medium changing too? What images have we overlooked and ought we to be reappraising or elucidating differently?
With these questions in mind, Farewell Photography is a stocktaking, removed from any form of nostalgia, but borne by a great fondness for photography. This upheaval is thus also a great opportunity to subject photography to a critical examination and to redefine it.

The Biennale 2017 is curated by an expert team managed by Florian Ebner und Christin Müller. The team includes Fabian Knierim, Boaz Levin, Kerstin Meincke und Kathrin Schönegg.

The included exhibitions are:

How Your Camera Works
Leaving the Still Image
No Image is an Island
Who Are You? That’s You!
Resisting Images
Global Players
Evidence and Testimony
Ghost Stories

Learn more about the Biennale, the exhibitions and the accompanying programme here: https://biennalefotografie.de/en

›Farewell Photography‹

Die Welt der Bilder erlebt einen rasanten Umbruch. Fotografie ist heute allgegenwärtig und in ständiger Verwandlung. War sie einst ein physisches Objekt, ist sie heute Datensatz, tausendfach geteilt und wieder gelöscht. Sie ist Medium demokratischer Artikulation und Teilhabe, aber auch der Propaganda und kommerzieller Vereinnahmung.
Wie reagiert die Kunst auf diese vielen Gesichter der Fotografie, auf das ›Flüssigwerden‹ der Bilder, und wie verändert sich auch unser Blick auf die Geschichte dieses Mediums? Welche Bilder haben wir übersehen und sollten wir neu oder anders beleuchten?
Farewell Photography ist in diesem Sinne eine Bestandsaufnahme, fern jeglicher Nostalgie, aber getragen von einer großen Zuneigung zur Fotografie. So ist dieser Umbruch auch eine große Chance, die Fotografie einer kritischen Betrachtung zu unterziehen und sie neu zu definieren.

Die Biennale für aktuelle Fotografie wird 2017 von einem Expertenteam um Florian Ebner und Christin Müller kuratiert. Dazu gehören Fabian Knierim, Boaz Levin, Kerstin Meincke und Kathrin Schönegg.

Die Titel der einzelnen Ausstellungsstationen lauten:

1 x 1 der Kamera

Das stille Bild verlassen

Kein Bild ist eine Insel

Wer bist du? Das bist du!

Global Players

Widerständige Bilder

Beweis und Zeugenschaft

Gespenstergeschichten

 

 

Mehr zur Biennale für aktuelle Fotografie, den Ausstellungen und dem Begleitprogramm erfahren Sie hier: https://biennalefotografie.de/